top of page

Candidates File for 2024 Election

The filing period for the 2024 primary elections kicked off this week as Federal, State, and County candidates submitted their petitions and paperwork at both the Sangamon County Clerk's office and the Illinois State Board of Elections. In Springfield, voters can anticipate key contests in the 13th and 15th congressional districts, along with the 95th, 96th, and 108th House districts. Incumbent state representatives Mike Coffey, Sue Scherer, and Wayne Rosenthal filed for re-election.

In Sangamon County, five countywide positions are up for election, and fourteen of the twenty-nine county board seats. Republican incumbents Auditor Andy Goleman, Coroner Jim Allmon, State's Attorney John Milhiser, and Circuit Clerk Joe Roesch are seeking re-election, as well as the lone elected countywide Democrat, Recorder Josh Langfelder.

Sangamon County Coroner Jim Allmon said, "I am proud to be the Sangamon County Coroner, and I look forward to continuing to move the office forward."

Incumbent Republican county board members seeking re-election include Tom Madonia Jr. (District 9), Brad Miller (District 13), Tim Krell (District 15), Greg Stumpf (District 16), Annette Fulgenzi (District 17), Andy Van Meter (District 24), George Preckwinkle (District 25), and Abe Forsyth (District 27).

Democratic party county board incumbent candidates are Marc Ayers (District 12), Clyde Bunch (District 21), Gina Lathan (District 22), and Kevin McGuire (District 28). Additionally, Democratic challengers in the upcoming election are Garret Selinger (District 16), Maureen Duffy Bommarito (District 24), Jennifer Merritt (District 25), and Kamilah Renee Webb (District 27).

A complete list of local candidates is available on the Sangamon County Clerk's website. Candidates have until Monday, December 4, at 5:00 PM to file.


bottom of page