top of page

LLCC Announces 2023 Regional Academic Winners

Approximately 185 students from 13 area high schools competed in the regional Academic Challenge at Lincoln Land Community College. Students competed as individuals and as teams (of up to 14 students) testing in their choice of two subjects — biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering graphics, English, mathematics and physics. The tests are written by teams of college and university faculty and designed to present a challenge to high school students. Teams that place either first or second within their respective divisions at the regional level are eligible to advance to the sectional competition to be held in March. Third place teams also advance if there are eight or more teams competing in a regional division.

Those teams advancing to sectional competition include: Division 300 (high schools with 300 students or less) – Mt. Pulaski and Pawnee; Division 700 (high schools with 301-700 students) – Pleasant Plains and Auburn; and Division 1500 (high schools with 701-1,500 students) – Glenwood and Jacksonville. Individuals that placed first or second in any division, but whose team did not advance, are eligible to participate in the sectional competition (see individual rankings below). Teams and individuals that score high enough at the sectional competition will advance to the state finals, which will be held April 14-17 at Eastern Illinois University.

Two $250 LLCC Foundation scholarships were awarded at the event. Robin Pitts from Lanphier High School and Zorah Austin from North Mac High School were selected at random from all participants in the Academic Challenge as the recipients.

The regional level competition at LLCC was sponsored by LLCC and Eastern Illinois University.

Division 300 teams participating: Greenview, Mt. Pulaski, Nokomis, Pawnee and Virginia

Individual Rankings


First – Abygail O’Malley, Nokomis

Second – Thomas Lieber, Nokomis

Third – Cecilia Davis, Mt. Pulaski


First – Alexis Wade, Mt. Pulaski

Second – Amber Bradbury, Pawnee and Makenna Wilham, Mt. Pulaski

Third – Emarie Willis, Mt. Pulaski and Nolan Himes, Nokomis

Computer Science

First – Hayden Masters, Pawnee

Second – David Ruhl, Mt. Pulaski

Third – Jacob Gordon, Pawnee

Engineering Graphics

First – David Ruhl, Mt. Pulaski

Second – Lily Woodworth, Mt. Pulaski

Third – Tanner Bishop, Mt. Pulaski


First – Colt Selinger, Mt. Pulaski

Second – Gavin Smith, Mt. Pulaski

Third – Mia Minor, Virginia and Heather Godsil, Greenview


First – Maddux Himes, Nokomis

Second – Reece Lohman, Nokomis

Third – Hayden Masters, Pawnee; Megan Reynolds, Virginia; Alexander Wilcoxon, Greenview; and Colt Selinger, Mt. Pulaski


First – Makenna Wilham, Mt. Pulaski

Second – Justin Skinner, Pawnee and Lilly Carson, Virginia

Third – Alexander Wilcoxon, Greenview

Division 700 teams participating: Athens, Auburn, North Mac and Pleasant Plains


bottom of page