Sheriff Campbell Awards Three Scholarships

Three Sangamon County high school seniors have received scholarships from Sangamon County Sheriff Jack Campbell for the upcoming academic year.

The Illinois Sheriffs Association established a scholarship program for county sheriff’s departments in 1979. Scholarships ranging from $500 to $1000 are awarded to students who demonstrate outstanding scholastic, extra-curricular and character qualifications through an application and essay.

The recipients of the 2022 scholarships are: Nolan Kulavic, Springfield High School; Brendan Barnhart, Lanphier High School; Evan Sembell, SIU School of Medicine.

The application for the scholarship was due back in mid-March.The scholarship program is open to Illinois students attending an Illinois higher learning institution.Each Illinois county that participates in the ISA membership program awards at least one $500 scholarship each school year.